Thursday, July 05, 2007

Seven Wonders Finalists

The UN has released the finalists to take six of the seven slots in a revamped Wonders of the World list. The pyramids at Giza are already in. The finalists (my votes in bold):

  • The Acropolis (Greece)
  • Hagia Sophia (Turkey)
  • Kremlin & St. Basil's (Russia)
  • Coliseum (Italy)
  • Neushwanstein, i.e. Mad King Ludwig's, Castle (Germany)
  • Eiffel Tower (France)
  • Stonehenge (UK)
  • Alhambra (Spain)
  • Great Wall of China (guess where?)
  • Kiyomizu Temple (Japan)
  • Sydney Opera House (Australia)
  • Angkor (Cambodia)
  • Taj Mahal (India)
  • Timbuktu (Mali)
  • Petra (Jordan)
  • Christ the Redeemer Statue (Brazil)
  • Easter Island (Chile)
  • Machu Picchu (Peru)
  • Pyramid at Chichen Itza (Mexico)
  • Statue of Liberty (United States/France)
More at

No comments: