Thursday, March 17, 2005

Album of Tuesday

Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe, by Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe (1989): If Drama is regarded as not-quite-a-real Yes album due to the absence of Jon Anderson, then ABWH has at least an equal claim, boasting not only Anderson but three other long-time Yesmen. The missing piece, of course, is Chris Squire, who famously won the right to control the Yes name (as the only member on every album) in litigation following the formation of ABWH. His place is taken by the more than capable Tony Levin. The album certainly has its downsides (Bruford was going through his electronic drum phase for one, "Teakbois" for a huge other), but it also produced some tunes that could stack up with the traditional Yes canon. "Birthright," in particular, and "Brother of Mine" and "Order of the Universe" to lesser degrees.

No comments: